Daily Archives: April 9, 2014

Passing 5K

T minus 135

About a year ago I took up running as a way of losing weight, keeping fit and improving stamina ahead of a trip last summer that was to include trekking in Vietnam and in Cambodia.

IMG_2213

It is unfortunate that all the house preparations in recent weeks have prevented me from doing this.  When up to speed (forgive the pun) I usually run between 3 and 8 miles – though I have been known to run 10-12 on rare occasions. My aim and intentions over the Easter break is to get back into running – though a heavy cold at the moment is hampering this goal. I would also like to get back into the 5K Park Run locally – though I realise running in Tanzania might be more of a challenge (I’m no Mo Farah!) and I might need to find some other form of exercise.

 

20140409-195621.jpg

On the subject of  5K, in all the pleasure I had in sharing my Liebster Award yesterday, and all the Deck Painting. I completely forgot to mention that our blog has now surpassed 5000 views and  is attracting over 100 views per day on most days. As you can see a number of bloggers are visiting from Asia, as well as those from Europe, North America, Australasia and Africa.

Thanks to all those of you visiting my site it’s much appreciated.

Country Views
United Kingdom 4,797
United States 110
United Republic of Tanzania 52
South Africa 46
Sweden 27
Ireland 24
Australia 24
Germany 22
Thailand 17
Singapore 14
Spain 9
Taiwan 9
Malaysia 8
Greenland 8
Lao People’s Democratic Republic 8
Canada 7
Norway 6
France 6
New Zealand 4
Italy 4
Venezuela 3
Gambia 3
Isle of Man 3
Philippines 3
Uganda 2
Malawi 2
Indonesia 2
India 2
 Republic of Korea 2
 Netherlands  1
 Bulgaria  1
 Czech Republic  1
 Austria  1
 Belgium  1
 Portugal  1

 

 

Damson & Ash

T minus 135

The past two days I have been putting a second coat of stain on the decking area. Mum so ably having provided the first coat when she was here.

20140408-170506.jpg

First the Summer Damson for the balustrade, trellis and path. It’s amazing how the colours fade overtime and this was particularly noticeable as I painted the trellis – the algae green showing up brightly against the damson purple which gradually replaced it.

 

Day two has been spent re painting the deck itself, along with the gate and fence in Ash Black – removing all traces of blue.

I am particularly proud of the balustrade and the trellis as this was all my work 11 years ago. My most major piece of DIY to date.

I put the path down in 2003 with the help of my dad along. Eleven years ago the deck was mostly constructed by Geoff with my help.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Many a late Spring and Summer gas been spent on the Deck, although the British weather has often curtailed us.

.