Daily Archives: November 16, 2014

Sunday Bake

With the girls getting better and my son out for the afternoon playing MineCraft. I decided to do some baking. I enjoy cooking and in the UK did most of it. Here in Tanzania the presence of a Houseworker, who likes cooking (and baking in particular) and Anita being at home has meant I have done less of this. Even so given the chance it’s nice to spend a little time cooking.
I fancied making scones and was tempted by the large number of mangos to do something like Mango Scones. Scouring the net for I found some good recipes – alas we had no eggs. Then I tried searching “Banana bread” before thinking Mango and Banana bread – I even found an eggless one here. Although not a vegan – it fitted the bill.
IMG_9489-1.JPG

IMG_9490-2.JPGif I were to change one thing I would probably dice the mango finer otherwise it tasted perfect.
Still wanting scones I turned to making Cheeses Scones – the lack of sufficient butter led me to searching for an oil based recipe which I found here. I simple substituted the oil suggested for our own bog standard vegetable oil .

IMG_9492.JPG

IMG_9493.JPGAll in all a successful Sunday Bake!

Weekly Photo Challenge: Achievement

A submission to this week’s photo challenge – achievement

These pictures represent the achievement of running  – for me  5k was the distance and whilst in the UK I did the Park Run Challenge for a time. Running here has been harder (heat, hills and hours of daylight!) but I’m gradually getting into it again.