Ultimate Bank Holiday Monday

T Minus 88

With awe I have just realised that this is our last Bank Holiday Monday in the UK. Another milestone! The next one will be three days after we leave on August 25th 😮
In general I’m not (like most people I think) a great fan of Monday’s. It’s not that I don’t like work per se although the first Monday back after a holiday can be a pain. I don’t get thoroughly depressed, work has it’s own interests too (and in teaching no two lessons are ever the same – even with the same classes week by week). For me it’s the return to structure and formality (in my case a defined timetable) after the freedom of a weekend which can feel burdensome. Bank Holiday Mondays are an exception, a day of possibilities. Today we are spending time with Anita’s family – a good chance to catch up with all, play silly games, go for a walk if the weather holds out.

Mondays often feature, often negatively in songs. On my iPod I have several Monday tunes – here they are (YouTube versions) for your listening pleasure.

New Order – Blue a Monday

Boomtown Rats – I Don’t Like Mondays

Bangles – Manic Mondays

Duran Duran – New Moon on Monday

Flunk – Blue Monday (cover)

Finally and because it’s a Bank Holiday

Blur – Bank Holiday

Have a great Monday wherever you are.

Leave a Reply

